Courage

Courage, Dear Heart

pexels-photo-129105-2

Today I am going to be talking about courage. Courage is something that all of us have, but none of us have. At times, we’re more courageous than a knight or a lion, and others as meek as a little sheep.

Don’t you just love The Chronicles of Narnia? I know I do, but for more than one reason. One, it’s just plain awesome. Second, it’s a great retelling of an amazing true story – Jesus death on the cross and His rising from the grave. Now, that’s pretty cool.

A really cool quote C.S. Lewis used in his 5th chronicle, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, is “courage, dear Heart”. Aslan says those three, beautiful words to Lucy in the end of the book.

To me, those words have are real – as real as the device you are holding or looking at right now. They are words that need to be spoken to the girls of the world today, because we have a lot to live through, and we need courage.

A lot of girls don’t have that; the courage to stand up for what’s right, the courage to do what’s right. I know that sometimes I don’t. But I need to have courage, because someday, I’m going to have to stand up for what I believe, and I know that I’ll need a lot of courage to do that. A lot more than I usually have right now.

So, how do we get it? How do we get courage? First off, courage not something that you can just “get”. You can’t go to the store, buy a jar of courage, and eat it when you need it (although, that would be pretty cool 😉 ).

To have courage you need to remember that God is with you all the time and that He is protecting you from all evil. And when you need courage, remember that God is right there cheering you on, because He loves you.

Have a nice day!

anika joy signoff

4 thoughts on “Courage, Dear Heart”

Leave a Reply

