My Testimony

My Testimony – by K.A.

pexels-photo-154015-2

Hello! Today, I’m going to tell you my testimony. I haven’t ever shared this on a blog, and I don’t share it with others very often, but I’d like to share it with you all now.

When I was little, I believed that if you were young enough, you would go to heaven even if you weren’t a Christian. You know, when you didn’t know how to become one yet. When you didn’t understand it. Well, I remembered on my 8th (or somewhere around there) birthday, and I was SO scared. I didn’t want to be 8 yet. I had decided that was probably the age that if I died I wouldn’t go to heaven anymore, unless my salvation was true.

Of course, I know now that if I was old enough to understand that much, I was probably to that age already. Sure, I had prayed the prayer, but I didn’t feel like I was a Christian. After I was that old, I lived my life in constant fear. Every time I hollered for someone and they didn’t answer right away, I freaked out and thought “The rapture happened, the rapture happened! I’m here all alone!!!” I was always scared. I could never actually concentrate on anything, because I was so scared that the rapture would happen and because I wasn’t a true Christian that I would be left here all by myself. When I couldn’t find my sister where I had seen her last, I panicked. All the time I was scared.

I probably prayed “the prayer” a thousand times, just trying to get myself to think I was actually a Christian. I guess I thought I would KNOW when I was a Christian, and that in itself would be an immediate feeling or something. I asked my mom about it, and she showed me some verses about assurance of salvation. Over time, I realized that I wasn’t fearing over those things anymore, that I was no longer living my life in dread, fear, and anguish. I wasn’t constantly worried of those things, and after a while, I knew that if the rapture happened I was going to be right there with the rest of my family in heaven.

I used to be scared that I wouldn’t ever have assurance, that I would live the rest of my life hiding from the rapture instead of looking forward to it. Now, I can rest assured that I’m a Christian. I know that if someone were to ask me if I was, I would be able to truthfully say I KNOW where I’m going when I die, and I know it’s heaven! Now, I am willing to stand up for my faith. I’m not entirely sure what helped me gain assurance. I know it was God, but I think it was also the Bible, my mom, and time helped as well.

I hope you enjoyed this post. If you struggle with assurance of salvation, I hope this was a help to you!

K.A. signoff

7 thoughts on “My Testimony – by K.A.”

  1. I’m a summer camp counselor at a Christian camp, and there are always lots of kids that struggle with assurance of salvation. I know one girl who went back every night to become saved, because she thought she had to ask Jesus into her heart every night to stay saved. We went through the assurance scriptures with her and prayed with her. I haven’t seen her since the summer, but I hope and pray that she realizes that she is totally saved, and that Jesus is always with her.

    Assurance is big deal! So many people get saved, but don’t have assurance, then they doubt themselves and God. I am so glad you wrote about this! Looking forward to reading your future posts! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh cool! Yes, that’s pretty much what I did… It is a very big deal! Thanks so much for the comment! I’m so glad you left on! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

