Books, Purifying the Mind, Body, and Spirit

Purifying the Mind, Body, and Spirit with Our: Readings

Readings

Hello girlies! Sorry I didn’t get this posted yesterday. Anyways, welcome to post #3 of my series: PMBS (Purifying the Mind, Body, and Spirit)! You can read post #1 HERE and #2 HERE.

Sometimes, it can be hard to find a clean book to be engrossed in. Or, it can be hard to find a clean blog or magazine to follow or subscribe to. Because that is one of the areas we can purify ourselves in as well; what we read.

I will separate this post into three sections: 1, books; 2, blogs; and 3, magazines for Christian girls to read.

Unless you are not allowed/cannot/do not want to read anything with magic or fantasy-ish things (like elves and light catchers {practically magic wands}), this is a clean NYT Bestseller series that I personally LOVE.

– The Mysterious Benedict Society Series

There are four books in this series, and it strangely all makes sense. Such an interesting idea of what might happen if four kids saved the world was never found but in this series.

– The Anne of Greene Gables Series

There are many (eight in total) books in this series. L. M. Montgomery did a great job on every one. I recently found and bought Rainbow Valley, the second to last book in the series of Anne and her children. It wasn’t as good as the first one (when is it ever?) but I enjoyed it very much!

A Question of Honor (Questions of War #1)

I beta-read for this indie published book, and I LOVE it! Jesseca did such an amazing job! A clean read set in the WWII times for ages 12+.

– The Love Comes Softly Series

These books (eight in all) are very good if you like historical fiction (which I do). I would recommend this series to girls 12+ (just like A Question of Honor) just because it was originally intended to be Women’s Fiction and YA Fiction.

  • Blogs

– Girl Defined

I love to read this blog so much! Written by two young women serving God in their 20s, this is one organization I couldn’t keep off my list. They do post about stuff for older teen girls (sex, relationships, marriage, etc.) but there is content appropriate for younger young women here as well. 🙂

Scattered Journal Pages

An amazing teen named Amanda shares her thoughts on, well, everything here. Although this started out as more of a blog for teens to read, it has reached my heart as a kind of ministry that Amanda started.

A Purpose and a Promise

Emily is a beautiful poet and a daughter of God who fills her posts with the love of our Savior and the (amazing) rhyming of poetry.

Having a Heart Like His

Hosanna Emily posts on this blog about faith, writing, and everything in between. She has indie published one book (The Mystery of the Midnight Trespasser) that I enjoyed very well!

Madi Grace

Oh. my. word. Have you ever heard of a blog SO amazing? I mean, DEVIL BUTT KICKING CLASSES every Monday??!! Yes, please!!!! Madi posts about writing, life, devil butt-kicking, and tons of other things on her personal blog, but you can also find her on her doll blog @ Delightful World of Dolls.

Ok, this isn’t technically a magazine, it’s actually a book, but I didn’t have room up in the books section, so. 😉

Cover Up for Christ

Ok, maybe this isn’t a magazine either, but it’s an amazing organization that I had to fit somewhere in this post. 😛

Stone Soup

This is a really good (actual) magazine! It is a children’s magazine featuring stories, art, poems, and book reviews from children under thirteen all over the US. I actually submitted my first short to them over a year ago, got it accepted and published in their Nov./Dec. 2016 issue!

Crown of Beauty Magazine

This is an e-magazine that I heard about from a friend a while back and decided to check out. Haven’t got a chance to read much yet, but so far so good. 😉

Set Apart Girl

This is another e-magazine that I found not too long ago and can’t wait to read more of. 😀

Thanks for reading the third post in my series! If you skimmed a little, that’s fine; it was long anyways. 😉 Chow for now!

anika joy signoff

PS: If you want more magazines and books to check out, look at Chloe three other posts HERE, HERE, and HERE.

3 thoughts on “Purifying the Mind, Body, and Spirit with Our: Readings”

Leave a Reply

